Monday, May 19, 2008

Such is the Life of a Cyclist

I’ve never understood the infatuation dogs have with cyclists. Maybe infatuation isn’t the word, maybe it’s more like um………. hate. What about a bike makes a dog want to chase it down and try to bite the cyclist? I must have been chased by at least a dozen dogs today. I’m starting to fear dogs more than cars and I find myself picking routes based on how dog populated it is rather than on how safe it is car wise. I really do like dogs a lot and they seem to like me but we just don’t seem to get along when I’m sitting on a bike. And honestly I don’t understand owners who don’t lock up their dogs when they know that they’re dangerous and try to bite people. I just feel like this is irresponsible and inconsiderate of others. What ever happened to social responsibility? And really half the dogs that chase me aren’t trying to do anything more than run beside me while barking. I don’t have a problem with this as long as they stay away from my tire. But I’ve learned to tell the difference between a nice one that wants to play and one that wants a piece of leg. I’ve encountered the latter many, many times today and I’m almost out of pepper spray because of this. Plus I seem to have gotten a little on myself and can’t stop sneezing. But enough of my ranting. I feel better now but I just wish people would lock up their mean dogs, especially the pit bulls.

No comments: