Monday, May 26, 2008

Dehydration pretty much sucks

It so hot down here in Texas and Arkansas! The heat here is unbelievable and I can’t wait to go up north and avoid all this heat during the summer. Although I’m sure it can get hot there too. The last few of my rides where so slow and hard so I got really worried that I was losing it. Then it dawned on me that it’s probably due to the fact that I’m riding in 90+ temperatures with 70+ humidity. I attempted a 70 mile ride just a few days ago and it was an absolute disaster. I couldn’t drink fast enough from my camel back to make up for the sweat I was losing. It ended up with me laying spread out on the side of the road (no I didn’t fall I was just chillen). I couldn’t so much as move my big toe without getting these intense cramps. But luckily I ended up getting back safely (after 50 total miles) without puking or running into things that I kept seeing two of. I really wish cyclist were around this area that I could ride with because it wouldn’t have been too scary. I’ve actually never cycled with anyone before unless you count riding around the street when I was a kid. I’m really happy that they’ll be plenty of people to ride with and keep me company because it gets a little board riding by myself for 4+ hours in tight cycling pants while weirdoes honk at me. But anyways back to dehydration. It really wasn’t that big of a deal but I learned some great lessons as far as dehydration is concerned. Drink as much as possible. It’s much better to pee on the side of the rode than lay spread out on the side of the road. Despite these few difficulties, I’m extremely ready and excited to start this thing. In exactly 8 days I’ll leave for Providence. I just boxed up my bike today because I’m sending it to DHL tomorrow so for the next 8 days I’ll have run instead of bike. I’ve got to stop writing so I can go study (mini semesters aren’t fun) Bye!

No comments: