Wednesday, May 28, 2008
Running? Cycling?
Just got through with a run. I’ve been away from my bike for 3 days (it's headed to Rhode Island) so I’ve been running to keep whatever fitness I may have (Ha!). And boy is it slow! I feel like I’m just trudging along mile after mile but hey at least I’m not breathing hard! On top of that my I-pod just stopped working so I can’t listen to it when I run. I might not have one for this trip now. Biking has spoiled me and now running just seems a little on the boring side. Don’t get me wrong, running is my first and last. But not my only. It pays my way through college and I know I’ll run for the rest of my life or until I can’t get out of bed. Honestly though cycling is so much more fun! Not better or worse, just more exciting. Running feeds my competitive drive and cycling um…….. not so much. When I bike I feel like I can just stop whenever I want and do whatever I want without having to keep a certain pace. Is that the most amazing view ever? Well I can stop and take a picture. They sell the world’s best hamburgers here? Well I can get off and decide for myself. With running its get in, get out, and try to beat the previous time (sometimes). I love doing that. They are both great but for completely different reasons. I just thought I should put that out there as my I-pod is broken and this is what I think about as I’m running along. I’m so ready to get on my bike again. Then again I’m sure there will be a few times this summer after cycling every day when I would prefer to lace up my running shoes than my bike shoes!
Monday, May 26, 2008
Dehydration pretty much sucks
It so hot down here in Texas and Arkansas! The heat here is unbelievable and I can’t wait to go up north and avoid all this heat during the summer. Although I’m sure it can get hot there too. The last few of my rides where so slow and hard so I got really worried that I was losing it. Then it dawned on me that it’s probably due to the fact that I’m riding in 90+ temperatures with 70+ humidity. I attempted a 70 mile ride just a few days ago and it was an absolute disaster. I couldn’t drink fast enough from my camel back to make up for the sweat I was losing. It ended up with me laying spread out on the side of the road (no I didn’t fall I was just chillen). I couldn’t so much as move my big toe without getting these intense cramps. But luckily I ended up getting back safely (after 50 total miles) without puking or running into things that I kept seeing two of. I really wish cyclist were around this area that I could ride with because it wouldn’t have been too scary. I’ve actually never cycled with anyone before unless you count riding around the street when I was a kid. I’m really happy that they’ll be plenty of people to ride with and keep me company because it gets a little board riding by myself for 4+ hours in tight cycling pants while weirdoes honk at me. But anyways back to dehydration. It really wasn’t that big of a deal but I learned some great lessons as far as dehydration is concerned. Drink as much as possible. It’s much better to pee on the side of the rode than lay spread out on the side of the road. Despite these few difficulties, I’m extremely ready and excited to start this thing. In exactly 8 days I’ll leave for Providence. I just boxed up my bike today because I’m sending it to DHL tomorrow so for the next 8 days I’ll have run instead of bike. I’ve got to stop writing so I can go study (mini semesters aren’t fun) Bye!
Monday, May 19, 2008
Such is the Life of a Cyclist
I’ve never understood the infatuation dogs have with cyclists. Maybe infatuation isn’t the word, maybe it’s more like um………. hate. What about a bike makes a dog want to chase it down and try to bite the cyclist? I must have been chased by at least a dozen dogs today. I’m starting to fear dogs more than cars and I find myself picking routes based on how dog populated it is rather than on how safe it is car wise. I really do like dogs a lot and they seem to like me but we just don’t seem to get along when I’m sitting on a bike. And honestly I don’t understand owners who don’t lock up their dogs when they know that they’re dangerous and try to bite people. I just feel like this is irresponsible and inconsiderate of others. What ever happened to social responsibility? And really half the dogs that chase me aren’t trying to do anything more than run beside me while barking. I don’t have a problem with this as long as they stay away from my tire. But I’ve learned to tell the difference between a nice one that wants to play and one that wants a piece of leg. I’ve encountered the latter many, many times today and I’m almost out of pepper spray because of this. Plus I seem to have gotten a little on myself and can’t stop sneezing. But enough of my ranting. I feel better now but I just wish people would lock up their mean dogs, especially the pit bulls.
Tuesday, May 13, 2008
Holy Hill
Note: this post is completely random and tends to go from one thought to the next quickly. But I’m a pretty random person so it just comes natural. Feel free to skip over my rambling wherever you feel is necessary. Yesterday was my first time to successfully change my bike tube all by myself! I’m pretty proud that I did it myself without any help but all it takes is a little patience and time. I must have had a really good tube because it lasted for about 400 miles. Anyways today I had a 30 mile bike ride planed for after class since I had already ran quite a bit before class. I thought 30 wouldn’t be bad at all but I decided to do this on a new trail (actually it was a highway with cars swooshing by but it had a pretty good shoulder so I’ll call it a trail). Well it ended up being the single hilliest ride I’ve ever done in my life. Arkansas really is hilly compared to where I’m from (Texas for all of ya’ll who do not know). It ended up being pretty hard but I’m very glad I found this new “trail” because it’ll be great training for the 3 weeks I’ll be in Arkansas. I almost averaged 16 mph and I honestly have no clue how fast or slow this is because I’m new to this cycling thing. If I had to guess though I would say it’s more on the slow side. Hopefully that will improve as I start to ride with people and get used to cycling. When I first started cycling, which wasn’t that long ago, I was averaging a little under 12 mph and riding 15 miles was a huge accomplishment so I think I’ve come a long way. I’m no stranger to endurance sports as I have run cross country competitively for the last 8 years. I think my cross country background will help me a little with cycling. Or at least I won’t be surprised at the pain that comes from cycling great distances. I was actually worried when I made the commitment to do Bike and Build that cycling all summer without running any would have a negative effect on my cross country season this fall. Ha! Then I realized that biking up to 115 a day (average 70) isn’t exactly like I’m sitting on the couch all day watching Dr. Phil and eating ding dongs. Hey I might even come back in even better shape. And if not it’s all good because I would have rode with some neat people, helped others, and obtained some amazing tan lines. I guess that’s it and now I have to go study :( Peace
Sunday, May 11, 2008
24 days!
I can’t believe how fast time has gone and how close I am to the start of the trip. It’s really going to happen! In about 3 weeks I’ll be sitting on a seat that is half the size of my butt while sweating like crazy for 4-9 hours everyday. All in all I’m pretty excited but I have to admit I’m a little nervous. There’s always the question in the back of my mind asking if I’ve trained enough for this. Then I realized the other day that one can’t really train “enough” for this. In order to be fully prepared you’d have to spend like 5 hours a day on the bike and that’s just not gonna happen. I mean we’re going to be going over the Rockies. The freaking mountains! I think the best thing to do training wise is to get in shape enough so your body won’t go through complete shock at the fact that it’s got to peddle 70 miles per day. I believe I’ve done that. Ok so I hope I’ve done that. We’ve still got 3 good weeks and although I still have to be here at college to take a mini semester for that whole time, I think I can get in a few good rides.
As far as gear goes, I’ve got most if not all my bike supplies (still contemplating on aero bars) I finally broke down and bought a seat that actually allows me to sit down after riding :) I also realized that butt cream for chaffing is most certainly something that one should never skip on to save money. I learned the hard way that butt cream is right up there with food. You need it or you will not survive. It’s going to be one amazing summer!
As far as gear goes, I’ve got most if not all my bike supplies (still contemplating on aero bars) I finally broke down and bought a seat that actually allows me to sit down after riding :) I also realized that butt cream for chaffing is most certainly something that one should never skip on to save money. I learned the hard way that butt cream is right up there with food. You need it or you will not survive. It’s going to be one amazing summer!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)